Washington Speech-Language Pathology Assistant License Renewal Guide - 2024

AKA: Washington SLPA License Renewal

Speech Pathologist Programs

by Speech Pathologist Programs Staff

Updated: March 19th, 2024

Washington Speech-Language Pathology Assistant License Renewal Procedure

Certifications expire every year on your birthday and renewal notifications are sent about 90 days prior. The process can be completed online, by mail, or in person, and the processing fee is $15. An additional $15 penalty is collected for late applications.

If walking your application into the Board’s offices, or mailing it, use the following address:

Washington State Department of Health
111 Israel Rd. S.E.
Tumwater, WA 98501

SLPAs need 30 hours of continuing education (CE) every three years, with one hour spent on providing Infection Control education. CE hours do not have to be reported until your first full three-year period. When you receive your renewal notice it will inform you as to when your CE hours must be reported.

Your renewal application will have a section where you can attest to completing the CE courses. Some approved CE activities include in-service training, online and in-person courses, webinars, workshops, or seminars sponsored by Board-approved organizations.

If you’re audited by the Board for CE hours, a letter will be mailed, and you’ll need to submit documentation verifying your CE. The Board asks that you hold on to these certificates of completion for four years