Washington Speech-Language Pathologist License Renewal Guide - 2024

AKA: Washington Speech Therapist License Renewal

Speech Pathologist Programs

by Speech Pathologist Programs Staff

Updated: March 19th, 2024

Washington Speech-Language Pathologist License Renewal Procedure

Each year licenses expire on the licensee’s birthday. A courtesy reminder is mailed 90 days before the license expiration. Applications postmarked or delivered after midnight of the due date will be considered late.

Renewals can be completed online, by mail, or in person. Using the online system requires an additional $2.50 convenience fee for using a credit or debit card. ACH payments do not incur an additional charge.

For those mailing in the application or hand delivering it, the address you’ll need is:

Washington State Department of Health
111 Israel Rd. S.E.
Tumwater, WA 98501

If you do not receive the renewal notice within four weeks of the expiration date, or if you have any questions, call (360) 236-4700 or email hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov.

Processing times vary according to how the application was received.

  • Postal Mail: Two weeks including mailing time
  • In Person: 3-7 business days
  • Online: Updates are completed immediately upon finishing the online transaction

The renewal fee is $91, and late renewals are charged an additional $45 penalty fee.

Continuing education (CE) is a requirement for renewal and SLPs in Washington need to earn 30 hours every three years. One hour of the required 30 is to be spent on the topic of Infection Control. A minimum of 25 hours should be related to speech-language pathology, and multicultural courses focused on increasing accessibility to services can count for up to five hours of CE.

Approved CE activities include:

  • Courses
  • Seminars
  • Workshops
  • Postgraduate programs
  • Leading or instructing a CE program

Every year the Board audits 25% of licensees for CE hours. Documentation confirming the CE activities and dates of completion will need to be sent within 60 days of the request, or you will face disciplinary action. Program and course certificates of training or transcripts are acceptable documentation. The Board asks that you keep records of your CE for a minimum of four years after completing.

Interim permits are valid for one year and may be renewed for one more year if you need to complete the clinical fellowship.