Rhode Island Speech-Language Pathology Assistant License Renewal Guide - 2024

AKA: Rhode Island SLPA License Renewal

Speech Pathologist Programs

by Speech Pathologist Programs Staff

Updated: March 18th, 2024

Rhode Island Speech-Language Pathology Assistant License Renewal Procedure

The Board can issue or renew a two-year speech-language pathology assistant license. The license will expire on July 1, two years after issuance, unless revoked or suspended earlier. To renew the license, the applicant must fulfill the requirements and regulations stated in the Act. The Rhode Island Department of Health offers an online license renewal, and a fee of $62.50 must be paid with each renewal application.

If the licensee fails to renew their license by June 30 or one year later, they may still apply for renewal by submitting the renewal fee and a late filing fee of $25.00. Additionally, every licensee practicing speech-language pathology in the state must complete at least 20 clock hours of continuing education within two years before June 30 of even years. The licensee must provide satisfactory evidence of completion to the Board.