Arkansas Speech-Language Pathologist License Renewal Guide - 2024

AKA: Arkansas Speech Therapy License Renewal

Speech Pathologist Programs

by Speech Pathologist Programs Staff

Updated: March 19th, 2024

Arkansas Speech-Language Pathologist License Renewal Procedure

Each April renewal notices are sent electronically. All licenses have to be renewed every year by July 15, to avoid late fees. Licenses expire on June 30th of each year. Provisional licenses can be renewed every year for up to 36 months, after which they are invalid.

You can renew your full license one of two ways, online or by mail. The online renewal portal is only open during the renewal period. If you miss the online due date, you’ll have to send a paper renewal form to:

Arkansas Board of Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
4815 West Markham Street
Slot 72
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205

The Board does its best to process renewals mailed to its office as quickly as possible. Applications postmarked after July 15th are considered delinquent and will be subject to late fees. To confirm that the Board has received your renewal application, it’s recommended to send it by certified mail.

Continued professional education (CPE) is a requirement for renewal. It’s the Board’s way of keeping all SLPs’ knowledge updated so they can deliver the best services to patients.

Accepted CPE experiences are planned learning activities beyond the degree courses that qualify you for licensure. Each licensee must earn a minimum of 10 CPE hours during each licensing period. At least five hours must be in the following area:

  • Anatomic and physiologic bases for the normal development and use of speech, language, communication, swallowing, and hearing and balance
  • Physical bases and processes of the production and perception of speech, language, communication, swallowing, and hearing and balance
  • Linguistic and psycho-linguistic variables related to normal development and use of speech, language, and hearing
  • Technological, biomedical, engineering, and instrumentation information related to basic communication processes and swallowing
  • Various types of disorders of communication, their manifestations, classification, and cause
  • Evaluation skills, including procedures, techniques, and instrumentation for assessment
  • Principles and procedures in habilitation and rehabilitation of communication disorders and swallowing
  • Principles in diagnosis and rehabilitation/treatment of balance, vestibular disorders, and cerumen

The remaining hours can be in an area related to speech-language pathology such as medical billing or coding. The license renewal is dependent on you meeting the CPE requirements, submitting the CPE Report Form, and keeping certificates of completion for the CPEs in case you are randomly chosen for an audit.

Every year the Board chooses licensees to audit and notifies them by mail. SLPs who are audited must submit verification of CPE hours, which include the date, content of the course, and the number of hours spent in training.

Initial licensees will not have to complete a CPE report or be audited in their first year. The following year is when you’ll need to submit the proper documentation to show your 10 hours of CPE. No exemption is given for the year the provisional license is transferred to a permanent license unless it happens during the initial licensing year.

The regular renewal fee is $80, with late penalties as high as $500.