Delaware Speech-Language Pathologist License Reciprocity Guide - 2024

AKA: Delaware Speech Therapy Reciprocity

Speech Pathologist Programs

by Speech Pathologist Programs Staff

Updated: March 19th, 2024

Delaware Speech-Language Pathologist License Reciprocity Process

Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs) licensed in another jurisdiction can obtain licensure in Delaware through reciprocity. If you live in one of the states below already determined to have similar education requirements for SLP licensure, you only need to submit the requirements necessary for all applicants. That would include verification of your current licensure submitted to the board directly from the originating state or jurisdiction, and the state of Delaware and FBI criminal background check. You can begin the Delaware licensing application process online.

The qualified states are:

  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Hawaii
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • New jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode island
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

If you are not licensed in one of the above states the Board will take into account how many years you’ve been practicing in the field. A minimum of five years of practice in one state requires you to send the Board a notarized letter from each supervisor you worked under. The letter must confirm that you have been practicing for at least five years.

If you have not reached the five-year mark, copies of the laws and regulations of each state you are licensed must be sent to the Board for consideration. They will then determine if the information submitted is substantial enough for licensure through reciprocity.